Becomming one with my bike

Image  I would have laughed months ago if someone told me that you need to become one with your bike. To me…running was just so much safer. If I fell- most likely it was my own fault. I had complete control of my body. Where, when , how fast, how far, and of course- if I took a spill then it was my own fault! But the bike brings new elements into training all together. Cadence, Drafting, TIME, lots and lots of TIME. I can’t zone out on the bike the way I can when I run.YET. But that I know will come with time. I am loving these workouts. Still trying to figure out a schedule and looking forward to working with Anne, my new sports dietician. I can definitely feel myself lagging on days my nutrition is off. The science behind it all intrigues me, and I cant stop wanting to learn more and more! I started a book on mental toughness training in sports today. Intersting to me that toughness is not necessarily what most would imagine it to be. It is resiliency, how well we bounce back *our attitude*, and our durability. That word keeps sticking in my head during every workout. QT2 talks a lot about building durability. I’ve thought a lot about what this means in terms of my training. Yes, I feel like I am holding back intensity on my workouts, but I can already tell that my mental capacity to spend the TIME training is already increasing. Not to mention the time has forced me to start to get more comfortable in the water and on the bike. This is only the beginning of my journey. And as coach noted- I am a clean slate. So i’m trying to be a human sponge. Take it all in, practice it, live it, repeat it, and grow with it. Sometimes getting better means taking a step back and looking at your weaknesses. Everyone wants to work on their strengths, but the strongest people are the ones who arent afraid to look honestly at themselves and see what they need to work on. Tomorrow is a brick workout- and I cant wait for my feet to hit the ground! From 80 miles a week to 20- but you better believe I am making each minute and mile count! My brother always told me “Katie- you must look at yourself honestly in the mirror each day. What did you do wrong? What could you do better? What did you do right? How can you make it more meaningful?” Today I learned the importance of a good nights sleep! I learned that I need to tackle the bike fearlessly and push myself to learn as much as I can. I am looking forward to testing the waters this season. Skills, base building, and balancing out muscle imbalances are my focus at the moment….but I am looking forward to the challenges to come. Until then, I will make the most out of each day and each workout. And when i am tired and feeling unmotivated, I will think of my husband- staying up 24 hours straight to fly missions overseas. Now that is durability. I couldnt have a better motivator, friend, and support. Everyone needs an external motivator- and he is it for me. I could only hope to make him as proud of me as I am of him. So until then, i’ll keep plugging and count the days until his return. Most likely on my bike..                                           ..

Imagexc nationals 2011ImageNOTE: Not my bike

Leave a Reply

